Tags

, , , ,

I don’t talk much about my health on this blog because I mostly use it as a creative outlet these days. I know, however, that a lot of you remember how I struggled in the early years of my diagnosis and evern now what a precarious journey my life is with chronic illness.

However, a friend sent me a link to a Facebook Page for a young woman who was diagnosed with Fibromyalgia five years ago. She lives in Georgia. I was lucky when I was diagnosed because I was living in the United Kingdom where they have single payer medical coverage, the NHS. Illnesses like Fibromyalgia and CFS/ME are exclusionary illnesses which means you must be tested for a gazillion possible sicknesses and diseases just to find our what you don’t have. It’s a very costly process. Once you have your diagnosis the next step is trying drug after drug because nobody is the same. No one’s experience of Fibromyalgia is the same and no one’s experience of the alleged cures or symptom relief is the the same. Her husband has created a moving video of their plight with medical bills and increasing debt and the real possibility that they might lose their home.

They’ve created a crowd funding site on YouCaring: Help 4 Heather

Heather’s experience and bravery struck a chord deep in my heart and I felt a real need to reach out for some kind of assistance for them. I hope you’ll try to help them by donating whatever you can and by continuing to share their story and their links.

Thank you.

You have not lived today until you have done something for someone who can never repay you. ~ John Bunyan

CandlesAs far as we can discern, the sole purpose of human existence is to kindle a light in the darkness of mere being.~ Carl Jung

