Tags

, , , , , , , ,

Pandora releases the evils of the world and discovers the Spirit of Hope.

Hi Dear Ones,
There has been a lot written about the tragedy that took place in a cinema in the town of Aurora, Colorado a few days ago. As an astrologer, or student of astrology, events, all events, can be a good way to understand how planetary energies manifest. However, if we are not careful we can forget that we are looking at people’s lives. Someone’s daughter, son, brother, sister, father, mother, lover, best friend, etc.

So I would caution against unwittingly using astrology to romanticize the more horrific aspects of our current society or to use it as just another form of voyeurism. It is natural to want to seek an answer, to look for some kind of understanding. I said on Facebook a few days ago: In my experience simple answers are not only rare, but often deceptive. I continue to stand by that statement.

So rather than write more on this subject, I am going to provide you with two links that I highly recommend.

The first is from Donna Cunningham’s blog. She is an astrologer I would trust with my life, let alone my blog. She has not done an interpretation but has provided us with the astrological information and an opportunity to contribute to a discussion in her comments section. That link can be found here: Skywriter: James Holmes Date of Birth Revealed

However, my favorite post on this event was written by Matthew Currie on AstrologyDating.com. You can find the link here: Why Did This Happen? James Holmes, Mass Murderer

I especially love this paragraph:

I suppose we could cobble together a narrative about how his repressed smoldering temper (Mars/Pluto) and probable parental issues (Sun square Moon) resulted in extreme violence (the Uranus-Pluto square). But you know as well as i do that LOTS of people have bad transits… in fact, several thousand humans share a birthday with James Holmes.

In fact, as an astrologer, my eyes were first drawn to the Pluto Mars conjunction in Scorpio with a Sadge Sun/stellium. And then I remembered I have a Sadge Sun (just two degrees from James Holmes) with a Pluto Mars opposition. I have never had the slightest urge to call myself the Joker and plan a massacre of my fellow humans… not even while Pluto was transiting my Scorpio Moon. So, yes, by all means, study his chart and the transit chart. Use this opportunity to explore the archetypes involved, but do not expect to find a definitive answer. I would also beseech you to guard against letting any answers you might uncover limit your capacity for compassion. Sometimes evil just happens.

I am sure I do not have to remind those of you who may be tempted to assume all Sagittarians are mass murderers, just waiting for the right opportunity, that a Sun Sign does not a man or woman make. I am equally sure you have not forgotten the concept of Free Will. However, if we do need to discuss those topics further, please let me know and I will add them to my future blog post topics.

For purely academic and intellectual purposes there is also a very interesting article posted by The Astrology Research Journal entitled: Frequencies of Various Aspects in the Horoscopes of Murderers and Serial Killers vs. Those of Randomly Generated Control Groups. It can be found here: Astrology Research Journal Archives/article82702_1/

For those of you looking for a BiWheel showing the birth chart (remembering that we do not know his time of birth so I have used a Solar Chart with his Sun on the ASC) in the inner wheel and the chart of the time of the shooting in the outer wheel, I include one here:

James Holmes with Batman Cinema Shooting Transits

And finally, how do we make sense of tragedy in our lives? Those that know me well, know I have experienced my fair share. I wish I had an easy answer.

You know what’s coming. It’s the same thing I always say: Love. Love, an open heart, forgiveness, right action, being the best person you can be, hope…

Honestly? I don’t know if LOVE can change the world, if it can fight evil or oppression. However, I think it’s well worth the effort. What I do know is that it will change you.

Love is the only sane and satisfactory answer to the problem of human existence. ~ Eric Fromm

Once you choose hope, anything’s possible. ~Christopher Reeve

Namaste’
Robin
